Delusion of the jobless artist

‘I’m better than Joe artist, why is he working in the industry and I’m not?’ I know a lot of you saying the same thing to yourselves every day. I’m ashamed to admit that I used to think the same way. I used to curse to the heavens and shake my fist with disdain. The reality is that we are so blinded by our own potential that we can’t unbiasedly compare our work to others. It’s hard to see our own mistakes and it’s extremely helpful to get some critiques. If you’re afraid to put your work in forums, get your mom or your friend to look at your art and give you an honest opinion. Sometimes It’s hard to hear but it teaches us to become better at identifying our mistakes .  If everyone around you says your stuff is great, they are lying through their teeth because if that were true you would have a job by now. It takes hard work,determination, confidence in your own work and a bit of luck to get to the level of the working artist. Until you are honest with yourself and your work you will never improve.

  1. #1 by W. Blomstrom on July 20, 2012 - 6:29 am

    This is so true. I ask my 9 year old son for his opinion. He is ruthlessly honest. 😉

Leave a Reply

